QNAP

QTS 5.0.x

Editing Shared Folder Properties

  1. Go to Control Panel > Privilege > Shared Folders > Shared Folder.
  2. Locate a shared folder.
  3. Under Action, click .

    The Edit Properties window appears.

  4. Modify any of the following settings.
    Important:

    A HybridMount shared folder can only modify comments, set the shared folder as a backup folder, and enable access-based share enumeration and access-based enumeration.

    Setting

    Description

    Folder Name

    Specify a folder name that contains 1 to 64 characters and that does not:

    • Begin or end with a space

    • Contain consecutive spaces

    • End with "."

    • Begin with "_sn_" or "_sn_bk"

    • Contain the following characters: " + = / \ : | * ? < > ; [ ] % ` '.

    Comment (optional)

    Specify a comment that contains 1 to 128 ASCII characters.

    The information is for your reference and is not used by QTS.

    Disk Volume

    Specify the volume on which the shared folder will be created.

    Qtier Auto Tiering

    When enabled, Qtier performs auto-tiering on data in the folder.

    For details, see Qtier.

    This setting is only available if you select a Qtier-enabled storage pool.

    Tip:

    You can also enable auto-tiering from the Shared Folders screen.

    Path

    Modify the folder path.

    Hide network drive

    Selecting this option hides the folder in Windows networks. Users who know the specific path can still access the folder.

    Lock File (Oplocks)

    Opportunistic lock (Oplocks) is a Windows file locking mechanism that facilitates caching and access control to improve performance. This feature is enabled by default and should only be disabled in networks where multiple users simultaneously access the same files.

    SMB Encryption

    This option is available only when SMB3 is enabled. Selecting this option encrypts all Microsoft network communication using the SMB3 protocol.

    Enable Windows Previous Versions

    When enabled, the Previous Versions feature in Windows can be used with the shared folder.

    Enable Network Recycle Bin

    Selecting this option creates a Recycle Bin for this shared folder.

    Restrict the access of Recycle Bin to administrators only for now

    Selecting this option prevents non-administrator users from recovering or deleting files in the Recycle Bin.

    Note:

    This option is available only when Enable Network Recycle Bin is selected.

    Enable write-only access on FTP connection

    When enabled, only the admin has read and write access to the shared folder. Other users will only be able to write to the folder.

    Only allows applications to access files using the long file name format

    When selected, applications can only use the long file name (LFN) format to access files in the shared folder.

    Encrypt this folder

    Folder encryption protects folder content against unauthorized data access when the drives are physically stolen.

    Specify the following information.

    1. Input Password

      Specify a password that contains 8 to 32 characters except the following: " $ : = \

      This field does not support multibyte characters.

    2. Verify Password

      The password must match the previously specified password.

    3. Save encryption key

      When enabled, QTS automatically unlocks the shared folder after the NAS restarts.

      When disabled, the administrator must unlock the folder after the NAS restarts.

      For details, see Unlocking a Shared Folder.

      Warning:
      • Saving the encryption key on the NAS can result in unauthorized data access if unauthorized personnel are able to physically access the NAS.

      • If you forget the encryption password, all data will become inaccessible.

    Enable sync on this shared folder

    Selecting this option allows this shared folder to be used with Qsync. This option is only available if Qsync Central is installed on the NAS.

    Enable access-based share enumeration (ABSE)

    When enabled, users can only see the shared folders that they have permission to mount and access. Guest account users must enter a username and password to view shared folders.

    Enable access-based enumeration (ABE)

    When enabled, users can only see the files and folders that they have permission to access.

    Set this folder as the Time Machine backup folder (macOS)

    When enabled, the shared folder becomes the destination folder for Time Machine in macOS.

    Important:
    • If space in the folder is insufficient when starting a new Time Machine backup, QTS automatically deletes the oldest Time Machine backup in the folder to free up space.

    • You should disable Enable Network Recycle Bin when Set this folder as the Time Machine backup folder (macOS) is selected to prevent automatically deleted Time Machine backups from filling the recycle bin.

    Migrate to Snapshot Shared Folder

    Migrate the shared folder to a snapshot shared folder.

    For details, see Migrating to a Snapshot Shared Folder.

  5. Click OK.