QNAP

QTS 5.0.x

System Reset and Restore to Factory Default

QTS provides several options for resetting or restoring the NAS to its default state.

Important:
  • QNAP recommends backing up your data before performing this task.

  • To protect your device from attacks, QNAP recommends disabling the default "admin" account after a system reset. To disable the account, change the default admin password, log out of QTS, and then log in to QTS with another admin account.

Option

Description

Steps

Basic system reset

This resets the following settings to the default values without deleting the user data stored on the disks.

  • System administrator password: MAC address of adapter 1 without special characters (all letters must be uppercase). For example, if the MAC address of adapter 1 is 11:22:33:AA:BB:CC, then the default admin password will be 112233AABBCC.

    Tip:

    You can find the MAC address of adapter 1 using Qfinder Pro. It is also printed on a sticker on the device as "MAC1".

  • TCP/IP configuration:

    • Obtain IP address settings automatically via DHCP

    • Disable jumbo frames

  • System port: 8080 (system service port)

  • Security level: Low (Allow all connections)

  • LCD panel password: (blank)

  • VLAN: Disabled

  • Service binding: All NAS services can run on all available network interfaces.

  1. Power on the NAS.

  2. Press and hold the reset button for 3 seconds.

Advanced system reset

This performs a basic system reset and then restores the QTS default settings, deleting all users, user groups, and shared folders previously created. The user data stored on the disks is retained.

Note:

To retrieve old data after an advanced system reset, re-create the previous folder structure on the NAS.

Perform an advanced system reset using one of the following methods.

  • Using QTS:

    1. Go to Control Panel > System > Backup/Restore > Restore to Factory Default.

    2. Click Reset Settings.

    3. Choose to restart or shut down the NAS after the system is reset.

    4. Click OK.

  • Using the reset button:

    1. Power on the NAS.

    2. Press and hold the reset button for 10 seconds.

Restore factory default settings and format all volumes

This restores the default system settings and formats all disk volumes.

  1. Go to Control Panel > System > Backup/Restore > Restore to Factory Default.

  2. Click Restore Factory Defaults & Format All Volumes.

    Important:

    Selecting Restore Factory Defaults & Format All Volumes will delete all data on the NAS. To retain all files and data on the hard drive, see Reset to default settings.

  3. Choose to restart or shut down the NAS after the system is reset.

  4. Click OK.

Reset to default settings

This restores the default system settings without deleting the user data.

  1. Go to Control Panel > System > Backup/Restore > Restore to Factory Default.

  2. Click Reset Settings.

Reinitialize the NAS

This deletes all data on the disks and reinstalls QTS.

  1. Go to Control Panel > System > Backup/Restore > Restore to Factory Default.

  2. Click Reinitialize NAS.

  3. Choose to restart or shut down the NAS after the NAS is reinitialized.

  4. Click OK.