QNAP

QTS 5.0.x

Securely Erasing a Disk

Secure erase permanently deletes all data on a disk, ensuring that the data is unrecoverable. Using secure erase on an SSD also restores the disk's performance to its original factory state. Only administrators can perform this task.

Important:

Do not disconnect any disks or power off the NAS while secure erase is running.

  1. Go to Storage & Snapshots > Storage > Disks/VJBOD.
  2. Select a free disk.
  3. Click Action, and then select Secure Erase.

    The Secure Erase window opens.

  4. Optional: Select additional disks to erase.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Select an erase mode.

    Mode

    Description

    Complete

    QTS writes over all blocks on the disk with zeros or ones. This mode is the most secure but can take a long time to finish.

    Select Customized to configure the following the erase settings.

    • Number of rounds: QTS writes over all blocks on the disk the specified number of times.

    • Overwrite with: Overwrite all blocks with zeros, ones, or a random zero or one.

    SSD

    QTS issues a solid state drive (SSD) secure erase ATA command. The SSD firmware then erases all data and restores the disk to its original factory performance.

    Important:

    This feature is only supported on specific SSD models.

    Fast

    QTS overwrites the partition and RAID configuration data on the disk with zeros. This mode is the quickest but is less secure than the other modes.

  7. Click Next.
  8. Enter your password.
    Note:

    You must be logged in as an administrator.

  9. Click Apply.

QTS starts erasing the disk. You can monitor the progress in Background Tasks.