QNAP

QTS 5.0.x

Reverting a Volume Using a Remote Snapshot

Reverting restores a volume or LUN to the state at which the snapshot was taken. Restoring data using snapshot revert is significantly faster than restoring individual files and folders.

Important:

Restoration time depends on the amount of data being restored and the connection speed between the two NAS devices.

  1. Go to Storage & Snapshots > Storage > Storage/Snapshots.
  2. Select a thick or thin volume.
    Important:

    The volume must be the source volume for a Snapshot Replica job.

  3. Click Snapshot, and then select Snapshot Manager.

    The Snapshot Manager window opens.

  4. Under Select snapshot location, select a remote NAS.
  5. Select a snapshot.
  6. Click Revert Volume Snapshot.
    Warning:

    All changes made after the snapshot was taken will be deleted.

  7. Optional: Configure the following settings.

    Setting

    Description

    Take a new snapshot before reverting

    QTS takes a snapshot before starting the revert. This ensures that changes made to data since the snapshot was taken are not permanently lost.

    Enable encryption during transfer

    QTS encrypts the snapshot before sending it for additional security.

    Warning:

    If the network connection is interrupted or if the storage configuration of the source or destination NAS changes while reverting, the volume might become inaccessible. If this happens, revert the volume again using a local or remote snapshot.

  8. Click Remote Revert.

    The Remote Revert Warning window opens.

  9. Enter the QTS administrator password.
  10. Click OK.

The status of the volume changes to Remote Reverting. QTS disables access to the volume until the revert process is finished.