QNAP

QTS 5.0.x

Creating a Shared Folder

  1. Open File Station.
  2. On the menu bar, click .
  3. Select Shared Folder.

    The Create a Shared Folder window opens.

  4. Configure the folder settings.

    Field

    Description

    Folder Name

    Specify a folder name that contains 1 to 64 characters and that does not:

    • Begin or end with a space

    • Contain consecutive spaces

    • Contain the following characters: " + = / \ : | * ? < > ; [ ] % ` '.

    Comment (optional)

    Specify a comment that contains 1 to 128 ASCII characters.

    Disk Volume

    Specify the volume on which the shared folder will be created.

    Qtier Auto Tiering

    Select this option to enable auto-tiering for this folder.

    Note:

    To use this feature, you must enable Qtier on the storage pool.

    Path

    • Specify path automatically: Creates a new root folder on the selected volume using the specified shared folder name.

    • Enter path manually: Select an existing folder as the root folder.

  5. Optional: Enable folder encryption.
    1. Under Folder Encryption, select Encryption.

      Folder encryption protects folder content against unauthorized data access when the drives are physically stolen.

    2. Specify the following information.

    Field/Option

    Description

    Input Password

    Specify a password that contains 8 to 32 characters except the following: " $ : = \

    This field does not support multibyte characters.

    Verify Password

    The password must match the previously specified password.

    Save encryption key

    When enabled, QTS automatically unlocks the shared folder after the NAS restarts.

    When disabled, the administrator must unlock the folder after the NAS restarts.

    For details, see Unlocking a Shared Folder.

    Warning:
    • Saving the encryption key on the NAS can result in unauthorized data access if unauthorized personnel are able to physically access the NAS.

    • If you forget the encryption password, all data will become inaccessible.

  6. Click Next.
  7. Optional: Specify the access permissions for users.

    For details, see Shared Folder Permissions.

  8. Click Next.
  9. Optional: Configure properties.

    Option

    Description

    Guest Access Right

    Select the permission level assigned to users without a NAS account.

    Hide network drive

    Selecting this option hides the folder in Windows networks. Users who know the specific path can still access the folder.

    Lock File (Oplocks)

    Opportunistic lock (Oplocks) is a Windows file locking mechanism that facilitates caching and access control to improve performance. This feature is enabled by default and should only be disabled in networks where multiple users simultaneously access the same files.

    SMB Encryption

    This option is available only when SMB3 is enabled. Selecting this option encrypts all Microsoft network communication using the SMB3 protocol.

    Enable Windows Previous Versions

    When enabled, the Previous Versions feature in Windows can be used with the shared folder.

    Enable Network Recycle Bin

    Selecting this option creates a Recycle Bin for this shared folder.

    Restrict the access of Recycle Bin to administrators only for now

    Selecting this option prevents non-administrator users from recovering or deleting files in the Recycle Bin.

    Note:

    This option is available only when Enable Network Recycle Bin is selected.

    Enable sync on this shared folder

    Selecting this option allows this shared folder to be used with Qsync. This option is only available if Qsync Central is installed on the NAS.

    Enable access-based share enumeration (ABSE)

    When enabled, users can only see the shared folders that they have permission to mount and access. Guest account users must enter a username and password to view shared folders.

    Enable access-based enumeration (ABE)

    When enabled, users can only see the files and folders that they have permission to access.

    Set this folder as the Time Machine backup folder (macOS)

    When enabled, the shared folder becomes the destination folder for Time Machine in macOS.

    Important:
    • If space in the folder is insufficient when starting a new Time Machine backup, QTS automatically deletes the oldest Time Machine backup in the folder to free up space.

    • You should disable Enable Network Recycle Bin when Set this folder as the Time Machine backup folder (macOS) is selected to prevent automatically deleted Time Machine backups from filling the recycle bin.

  10. Click Finish.
    Tip:

    Hovering your mouse underneath the columns Size, Folders, and Files displays the shared folder's size, number of folders, number of files, and last update time.