Reverting to a Volume or LUN Snapshot

You can restore all the data on a volume or LUN to a previous state using snapshot revert. Reverting a volume or LUN takes significantly less time than restoring individual files and folders.

Tip:

Create a snapshot shared folder to take a snapshot of a single folder. Snapshot shared folders have their own dedicated volume and can be restored faster than a larger volume containing multiple folders.

  1. Go to Main Menu > Storage & Snapshots > Storage/Snapshot.
  2. Select a thick volume, thin volume, or LUN.

    The volume or LUN must contain at least one snapshot.

  3. Click Snapshot and then select Snapshot Manager.

    The Snapshot Manager window opens.

  4. Select a snapshot.
  5. Click Revert Volume Snapshot.
    Warning:

    Reverting a snapshot overwrites all changes made to files and folders on the selected volume or LUN after the snapshot was taken.

    A confirmation message appears.

  6. Optional: Select Take a new snapshot before reverting
  7. Click Local Revert.

The volume or LUNs status changes to Reverting.QTS disables access to the volume or LUN until the process is completed.