Snapshot Settings

Setting

Description

Smart snapshot space management

Enable this feature to delete the oldest snapshots when the space available for storing snapshots (guaranteed snapshot space plus free storage pool space) is less than 32GB. QTS excludes the last snapshot taken, or snapshots that are set to be kept permanently. If QTS is unable to create 32GB of free snapshot space, then it does not take any new snapshots.

Enable File Station Snapshot Directory for administrators

Enable this feature to consolidate the available snapshots into one folder on File Station. You can restore files and folders from the snapshot directory by copying and then pasting into a NAS shared folder.

Make snapshot directory (@Recently-Snapshot) visible in shared folder root

Enable this feature to show a special read-only folder at the root level of each shared folder. Making the folder visible allows users to browse its contents and restore previous versions of files using copy and paste.

When the number of snapshots reaches maximum

Specify the default QTS behavior after the maximum number of snapshots for any volume, LUN or NAS is reached. You can choose to overwrite the oldest available snapshots or to stop taking snapshots.

The maximum number of snapshots depends on your NAS model. For details, see Snapshot Storage Limitations.

Use timezone GMT+0 for all new snapshots

Enable this feature to use the GMT+0 time zone in the file names of new snapshots. This file naming convention can simplify snapshot management especially when working with snapshots from NAS devices on different time zones.

This setting only applies to new snapshots. Existing snapshots are not renamed.

Show hidden files in Snapshot Manager

Enable this feature to display hidden files in Snapshot Manager.

The setting does not affect files inside the File Station Snapshot Directory.